Nine. Books 📘

I’m reading a book right now. Two pages at a time before my mind wanders off. So distracted! I’m good right now. Happy. Doing well. I feel love all around me in ways I hadn’t felt in years. Everybody needs love. It may not be all the love that I need, but it’s good and I am proud of how well I am looking after myself and those around me.

I remember the last book you gave me. Along with a bedside table and a toothbrush. I’m pretty sure I never used any of those things. I never missed the table or the toothbrush but I really missed the book. I really wish so much that I took it home that day. I didn’t realise that I would never be back there again. I wonder about that book and where it is  now. Did you give it away? Is it in your bookshelf with all your other amazing books? Although hopefully not next to Kim Beazley! Did you read it? Did it remind you of how unreliable I was? I apologise for not taking it. I loved that moment when you gave it to me and I honestly thought I would be back soon, reading it on a Sunday morning, with you reading something else next to me.

It was a narrative. I remember you saying it was time for a narrative.

I wonder if there was a happy ending in that book. So unfinished this thing…

Leave a comment